“Specific Behavior Challenges” in my classroom

This article was quite intimidating, but I know how important it is for classroom teachers to have resources to draw from when dealing with behavior challenges in children.

When I started in my placement classroom, I was nervous about a few students’ “problem” behaviors.  I have realized, however, that my classroom is without many of the issues most teachers face.

First, I chose to read the section about Disruptive Behaviors.  I have a few students, mostly ELL’s who constantly disrupt lessons with excessive talking.  They aren’t talking to each other, but making comments out loud.  These comments are usually relatively on-topic, but they nevertheless disrupt other students’ learning.  A few of my students have expressed their frustration with “those students” who never raise their hands and who call out.  I was interested to read this chapter because I wanted to find more strategies to address this behavior, rather than just calling their name.

The article suggested the importance of teachers NOT reinforcing disruptive behavior.  Rather than calling students down and attracting attention to their misbehavior, I need to enforce approrpiate replacement behaviors.  I have always thought about my own behavior managmeent strategies as the teacher, but I hadn’t really grasped the idea of student self-management.  By 2nd grade, students definitely have the ability to manage their own behavior, and I need to expect them to do so.  I need to encourage these students to channel this energy toward participating in class discussions and working collaboratively with their classmates.

The article reinforced some of the behavior interventions we already have in place.  This made me feel much more confident in our classroom management skills.

While I haven’t tackled the entire article yet, I plan to save it as a resource to draw from during my teaching.

3 Comments

Filed under EDUC 517

3 responses to ““Specific Behavior Challenges” in my classroom

  1. I also found this article a bit intimidating! Mainly because of its length. However, I read that section too! I feel that is one of the problems I seen in my class also. I sometimes have trouble knowing how to handle it and this article cleared up some uncertainties. Occasionally I find myself just getting excited because they are participating but then realize it is not the best situation. We have begun focusing on this group collaboration and cooperation in many parts of our day and I feel like focusing on helping these students learn to do this reinforces some of the behavioral strategies this article discusses.

  2. kristenwendover

    I did not read this section, so it is interesting to hear what you two had to say about it. I have had the same feelings as you Emily, excited that students are participating, but having to step back and reinforce correct behavior for participation. I have found that the most consistent and clear the expectations and rules for participation are, the best students follow these expectations. I look forward to picking this article back up at some point and reading this section that you both read.

  3. sydneypender

    Katie,
    I read some of this section too because I have the same problem with some children in my class. The kids in my class who call out without raising their hands are the more advanced students. I’m trying so hard to be consistent and not acknowledge them when they don’t raise their hands, but it’s incredibly difficult because they usually have something really good and interesting to say about the topic. Instead of saying to them “Don’t call out!” I’m trying to say things like “I really appreciate the people who are raising their hands and waiting their turn.” But like you, I’m finding that it’s so hard to be consistent, and after reading this article, I realize that every time I allow a student to give a comment without raising their hand, I’m reinforcing that behavior, not only for that student, but for the whole class. Good luck with this, I’m hoping it gets easier!

Leave a Reply

